Judging Process

The IWFM Impact Awards judging process is central to ensuring we attract and reward the very best in workplace and facilities management.

The process has been developed and honed over the years to ensure it is robust, fair and independent. Led by Chair of Judges, Mark Griffiths, a team of independent industry experts make up the panel of Judges assigned to various categories bringing a range of expertise, experience and balance to the judging in the written and interview rounds.

Round 1 – written submission evaluation

Following the entry deadline, each submission will be scored directly against the category criteria by the team of judges. The scores on the written submission entry form count towards the overall score. All applicants will be notified by mid June 2024 if they have been successful in round 1.

Round 2 – interviews

If your entry is successful in round 1 and your category is eligible you will be invited to meet with the team of judges. Interviews will take place between 16-17 July 2024, and will be held virtually via a video call and will last a maximum of 30 minutes. Whilst IWFM will endeavour to adhere to preferred date requests this cannot be guaranteed, so, please add these dates to your teams’ diaries. Interviews should further expand on how the entry meets the criteria and bring the written submissions to life for the judges.

Please note that the following categories do not have an interview for round two: Positive Climate Action, Positive Climate Action: Towards Net Zero, Product or Service Development and Frontline Heroes.


Finalists will be announced on 31 July 2024. Not all entrants invited to interview will be named as finalists. If you are named as a finalist you will be notified in writing by IWFM and may be requested to submit additional information, such as an additional photos of your entry for use at the ceremony.

Key dates

  • Entry deadline: midday (BST) on 10 April 2024
  • Judging Round 1: 10-31 May 2024
  • Judging Round 2: 16-17 July 2024
  • Finalists announced: 31 July 2024
  • Awards ceremony: 14 October 2024