Manager of the Year 2017

The winner of the Manager of the Year Award is an experienced FM exponent who has delivered cutting edge service, a team player and has been responsible for managing others and steering them to success. The winner is an ambassador for their employer and for FM as a profession, has achieved notable career success and demonstrates the highest levels of support and commitment to the wider FM profession.


> Mike Gibson, Qwest Services, ENGIE


Since joining ENGIE back in 2007, Mike Gibson has shown true passion and skill for managing people and projects at the highest level. His ability to work across multiple sectors and projects is a testament to his passion for facilities management and for facilities management professionals.

Mike has been a key component in some of ENGIE’s biggest service delivery accounts, and since being appointed Managing Director of ENGIE’s Qwest venture with Cheshire West and Chester, Mike’s positive impact is already evident, with a strong business development strategy, a digital channel shift and clear improvements in KPIs. Mike has created a management development strategy in this role that incorporated employee engagement, development programs and implementing innovative ideas to help streamline processes.

In addition to his commitments at ENGIE, Mike has also been studying for an MBA via a flexible course, and is always looking for new ways to innovate within his role. Throughout his career, Mike has managed good personal relationships, and ensured his communication channels are always open – the traits of an exceptional FM manager.


> Lee Hannan, BAM FM


Lee Hannan started at BAM FM as a Helpdesk Operator and quickly progressed through the ranks to become Area Manager and a true ambassador for facilities management. Lee has been committed and loyal to the FM profession and to improving and managing relationships from day one, and has always welcomed new learning experiences at every level of his career. Lee is a very well-deserved runner-up for Manager of the Year.